A Year Overdue…

Hello! When I had my little girl, Freya, I decided I’d write a blog which would document her every move and milestone. I’d spent nine months reading everything I could about babies and, while anxiously waiting for mine, I knew that once she arrived every step would hold exciting surprises. And I didn’t want to forget a single thing. So, as I start my blog, is she a newborn sleeping in her crib? Well, no. As I type this, she’s crawling, she’s shouting, she’s eating and she’s nearly a whole year old. How did that happen?

Anyone who questions where this last year has gone will get a garbled and rushed response from me. New mummies are far busier than I ever realised. From the day-to-day stuff like feeding, changing and sleeping (and that’s even before I get to freya…), to the big stuff like going back to work and moving into a baby-friendly house, to the small but essential stuff like drinking a whole cup of tea before it goes cold and finding the time to paint my nails and dry them before the inevitable smudge… Being a mummy has been the biggest, and most stressful, job I’ve ever taken on.  Even though I do feel rich from my earnings.

But, what really interests me is that the baby-pace of life inside my home is reflected outside it too. Every day I read the papers and find there’s a new and fascinating story about babies. Whether it’s political, medical or downright inspirational, these little people have a lot going on. It’s why these days my writing career is pretty much completely baby-focussed and why I’m writing my blog about what’s going on in the world of my own little Freya.

Because, while right now she’s happily pulling every nappy out of her nappy box, ripping every wipe out of it’s packet, and then attempting the greatest coup of all – tipping over the dirty nappy bin – there’s big stuff going on in the world outside her window. And it’s going to change her future…and it’s exciting, if a little scary too…

 

About freyablog

I am Freya's mummy and a freelance writer living in Hither Green, London.

3 responses »

  1. Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

    Reply
  2. Please write more! x

    Reply
  3. Looking forward to hearing more of about you and Freya’s adventures!x

    Reply

Leave a Reply

