My first dress for Freya!

When I had Freya I desperately wanted all the baby things in the shops, but beautiful quilts, blankets and bunting were starting to break my bank. My weakness is basically anything from Cath Kidston, Mamas and Papas, Jojo Maman Bebe, Mothercare – there are so many lovely things everywhere! So, I decided to start sewing and making her things myself. Easy in theory…

My mum bought me my gorgeous pink John Lewis Pastel Sewing Machine sewing machine for Christmas, my nana donated her sewing machine for bigger projects, and I’ve been collecting fabric and making quilts in front of the telly most evenings.

But with no sewing classes, it’s definitely been a learning curve. The first time I tried to make her a dress from a pattern…well, she couldn’t have gone out in public. In fact she couldn’t wear it at all, there being no way of undoing it. Luckily for me, my mum is a crafty genius and last week we spent an afternoon cutting out and sewing her a dress, complete with zip!

I tried it on Freya this morning and it fits perfectly! Here is a pic for you to see…

About freyablog

I am Freya's mummy and a freelance writer living in Hither Green, London.

2 responses »

  1. It’s gorgeous! You’re so clever! Such a pretty dress – can I order an adult size one?!x

    Reply
  2. Super-cute. Especially with the stripy leggings. Clashing prints – very a/w 2010! xx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

