Our First Family Tummy Bug

I won’t go into details but it seems Freya brought us all home a little present from the hospital. For her it’s meant a few explosive nappies and a lot of wake-ups in the night, for Marko and I it’s been a horrible sickness bug. Lovely. It’s the first time we’ve all been ill together and it’s not been a completely bonding experience! I hadn’t realised until now that being a mummy is a job I can’t call in sick for. However ill I am my baby still needs 110% from me. Luckily, Marko had the worst of his illness the day before I had mine, but he still needed to go back to work once he felt better. In the end we decided he’d use his annual leave to take an afternoon off and look after Freya, and give me a break. It was a new conundrum for us. We hadn’t bargained for the fact we might need to use his holiday time if I ever got ill. I wonder if that’s what other other people do?

Another horrible side effect of Freya’s bug is that for the first time in her 11 months she’s turned her face away from food. Usually she’s the kind of baby who will eat anything put in front of her and fight you for her bottle – but this week she hasn’t wanted either. We went to the doctor this morning and she says it’s all quite normal, we need to take all fruit and veg off the menu and just feed her bland, starchy food.. We got home and gave her a bowl of baby rice and she ate the whole lot. It was amazing to see her eating!

About freyablog

I am Freya's mummy and a freelance writer living in Hither Green, London.

Leave a Reply

