To wean or not to wean…

I am reeling in shock from the big baby news story of the day. No, not the one about Orlando Bloom and Miranda Kerr struggling to find a baby name after one week with their newborn – we were still struggling with Freya as we sat in the registry office a month later!

The one about new research which suggests perhaps we shouldn’t be waiting to wean our babies at six months – but in fact could be advised to start at four months.

According to a story in The Daily Mail today, a team of researchers now think solely breastfeeding babies until six months could lead to allergies and iron deficiency. See the end of this post for a link to the full article.

Now, Freya was always hungry. From the second she was born and literally growling for milk (honestly!) right up until the day she had her first small bowl of rice. I had been desperate to wean her, and the day she turned six months I might as well have punched the air with glee I was so happy I could finally start her eating. From that very first spoonful of rice, she transformed from a baby who woke up several times a night, to one who slept through from 7pm until 7am. Her love of food has only grown since.

By that point I’d spent months assuring both mine and my partner’s mother that the days of weaning at four months are long gone and it really is best to wait until six months however hungry the baby looks.

So, that’s why this story has shocked me. It feels like us mums are told everything in such black and white terms. We must breastfeed, we must lie our babies on their backs, we must wait until six months to wean. And I’ve been a stickler for the rules, I’ve nurtured my baby by the book, fearing the worst case scenario at the thought of ignoring what my health visitor or my doctor says. I waited until the right time to feed my baby food. But, could doing the “right” thing, have been wrong?

About freyablog

I am Freya's mummy and a freelance writer living in Hither Green, London.

Leave a Reply

