No Freya!

We may have to wait until Freya has learnt to talk before we find the location of the telly remote. This puts a whole new pressure on the speed of her development. I don’t care that she’ll “do it all in her own time” I want to change channels from my sofa! I joke…kind of.

But this week I have come across a very serious and very new baby-issue. Freya has suddenly got naughty. Not only is she secret squirrelling important household objects, she’s also deliberately flouting the rules. Where before she would put her hands on her lap and shake her head if I told her no…or jump if I caught her doing something naughty…now she smiles cheekily before heading straight for the plug socket/bin/breakable object.

Where before I could kid myself she didn’t mean to smash apart my charcoal Clarins eyeshadow on our cream carpet…now her eyes are teasing me as she does so! And what do they say? Obviously it’s a guess, but I think something along the lines of: I’m going to do it anyway/ ha ha this is fun/ this’ll take a half a can of Vanish Carpet Mousse and a good hour to clean. Probably not as vindictive as the latter…but I can’t help but get frustrated.

Friends and relatives have told me to tell her No…but also that she’s too young for serious reprimands and probably won’t understand them. But at the same time I’m a bit scared my baby has the upperhand right now..or is that how it’s supposed to be? Today I simply wanted to hoover the front room, but as soon as she discovered the on/off switch – well she just had to have autonomy over my afternoon task. And everytime I told her no…she giggled!

So, now, as a reminder flashes up on the television screen for a programme I did not set…I can’t help but smile at the thought of my little baby sleeping in her bed. She has had a busy day with that remote and I love watching her little personality grow. But, I would welcome any suggestions on how to show a one-year-old you mean business…

About freyablog

I am Freya's mummy and a freelance writer living in Hither Green, London.

Leave a Reply

