SICK: that’s Sick In Charge of a Kid

Posted on

I’ve been a bit quiet this week! For the second time in a year and three months I caught a sickness bug from my baby and felt so ill I couldn’t physically look after her. But, I quickly discovered, she doesn’t accept a call saying, “sorry, I can’t come in today”. Not even a doctor’s note will suffice. She can’t read yet.

So, what do we do? Luckily for me, my partner Marko (who had the bug himself but had recovered) took a day off from work as annual leave. He has a very understanding employer considering the short notice! My lovely mum even offered to come up and help the next day, plus I had the offer of my partner’s mum taking time off work. So it’s fair to say I am incredibly lucky indeed, although I still felt lazy taking to my bed! Today, I’m feeling a million times better and I missed my little babe so it seems a rest was just what we both needed.

But when I looked into what my options would have been had Marko not been able to take time off and had our families not been so helpful, I was shocked to see that many mums feel their only option is to carry on. However hellish the experience is, they have no choice but to be a soldier. No wonder mums have superhero status! If only there could be a super flexible childcare service which could take babies for just a single day or even a few hours so their mummies could rest…like a sick nanny service! Wouldn’t life be so much easier?

Today, I’m planning to take it easy…it’ll be one of the rare occasions where mummy lies on the sofa and Freya runs rings around me I think. Let’s just hope we’ve had our illness quota for the year!

About freyablog

I am Freya's mummy and a freelance writer living in Hither Green, London.

One response »

  1. Hope you’re feeling better lovely, xxx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

