Is Breast Best?

Posted on

Today I’m looking forward to watching Cherry Healey’s new documentary, Is Breast Best? on BBC Three tonight. I loved her show, Cherry Has a Baby, last year. Just in case you didn’t see it, here’s a bit of background: At the age of 28, Cherry discovered she was unexpectedly pregnant and went on a mission to speak to women all over the UK to find out whether there’s a perfect age to have a baby. It was a really insightful documentary which made me both laugh and cry, we even saw her give birth to her baby girl at the end!

This time, Cherry’s taking on the super sensitive issue of breastfeeding. For me, it’s a subject so close to my heart it still manages to make me tearful nearly a year-and-a-half later! Why? Because for some women breastfeeding their baby is a magical experience, and for others it’s their first feeling of failure as a new mum. Not for want of trying, I fell into the second camp. Freya lost weight when I fed her and after weeks of trying I resorted to bottle feeding with a heavy heart. I found some comfort in the fact that I wasn’t not alone, less than half of mums are still breastfeeding their babies by the time they reach six weeks old. But I still wish I had more support so I could get it right.

So I’m really looking forward to hearing what Cherry has to say on the subject…

About freyablog

I am Freya's mummy and a freelance writer living in Hither Green, London.

Leave a Reply

