Day Three: The Potty Excursion

Since becoming a mum there have been many times I have contemplated how exactly I got here. One of them has to be the day I crouched over my half-naked daughter in a train corridor begging her to “wee in the potty!” How did I get to this point? I went against the advice of both Gina Ford and Jo Frost. Let this be a lesson learned. They both advise you to stay at home for the first few days of potty training and now I know why. The problem was a craft fayre had my name on it and after buying a travel potty I wanted to use it. This would have been fine had Freya been at a more advanced stage with her use of the potty. But, deep down, I knew all along I was trying to achieve the downright impossible.

Throughout the morning Freya stayed completely dry, but at 11.25am she admitted, knees together, she did really need to do a wee. But (and I’m sure you could have already told me this) if she didn’t want to do a wee in the comfort of her own bathroom she sure as hell didn’t want to do one in the corridor of a train. Nor did she an hour later in the carpark of the craft fayre, or in the portaloo. By lunchtime we had used her three spare sets of clothes and I had to admit defeat. Once at home she was still panicking and crying at the thought of weeing in the potty and it became apparent that this was turning into too much of a battle. I started to wonder if perhaps by forcing Freya to use her potty I might be doing more harm than good. So, with visions of her growing up with a life-hindering toilet phobia, I decided it was time to give Freya a break. She is a child who embraces learning new things and she desperately wants to be a big girl so I have absolute confidence potty training will be easy, but only when she is ready. And the best advice and prettiest potty in the world won’t change that. I’m going to try again in a couple of weeks and I’m wondering who will be more relieved…

About freyablog

I am Freya's mummy and a freelance writer living in Hither Green, London.

Leave a Reply

